Westlake Village, California - Ventura County based personal injury law firm Vititoe Law Group is excited to announce that the application process is underway for second annual James W. Vititoe award, a scholarship that will be given to a high school student who excels academically and demonstrates outstanding leadership potential.
When you're involved in an auto accident, you should seek immediate medical attention first and foremost for the sake of your health. Even if you feel like you aren't hurt and are "normal" after an accident, you should still seek medical treatment because pain and symptoms often show up a few days or weeks after an accident. Secondly, it's also necessary to document your injuries in order to receive full and fair compensation for your damages. Failure to see a doctor timely after an accident may harm your claim. Insurance companies will argue that you really aren't hurt from the accident if you didn't seek prompt medical care.
It's required by California state law for all motorists to carry minimum vehicle insurance. Each states set its own minimum and in California, it is 15/30/5 which refers to bodily injury and property damage liability insurance. For instance, 15/30/5 means coverage up to $15,000 per individual injured in an accident, $30,000 for all persons injured in an accident and $5,000 coverage for property damage. This liability coverage is to protect you from risk should you be sued and held legally responsible if you are in an "at fault" accident. But what happens if someone driving with only minimum coverage hits you?